Enjoying lately

Bluestocking Calligraphy
Bluestocking Calligraphy

More lists, less post-like posts…

Things I’ve Been Enjoying Lately

  • Improving my calligraphy website, by degrees. Next up: A new logo and some improved shoots of my portfolio and styles.
  • Accordingly, buying lots of new calligraphy supplies, to take myself and my little practice more seriously. Paper & Ink Arts is the best.
  • Cleaning out and organizing my studio; finding useful slips of pretty paper.
  • Dr. Martin’s Iridescent Copperplate Gold ink. It’s magic. No other gold ink even compares.
  • Reading! Always reading.
  • Looking out every morning at my Japanese maple seedling, a gift from Kyle.
  • Wearing pants, because the weather has been mild enough that they are comfortable again.
  • Our weeknight regimen of “salon,” in which we cannot watch TV but must instead walk the dogs, sit and read, play guitar, and/or discuss ideas. (TV is permissible on the weekends now. On the current docket: “The Wire” (just finished season 3), “The Leftovers,” and “Peep Show.”)
  • Monday nights with Maddy and Tara.
  • Plotting what I’m going to plant in the front yard this fall. Front yard goal: Entirely landscaped; no grass to speak of.
  • Eden’s new habit of leaning up against my chair while I read. She’s not begging for anything, just sitting with adorable closeness and cuddliness; it’s so unusual for her, and I love it.
Saturday lounging
The suspicious pup.

Also: I’m really looking forward to seeing the family women this weekend. Grace is finally back in America!

What have you been enjoying lately?

One thought on “Enjoying lately

Leave a Reply

