I was going to do that, and then I thought better of it

Front window view. #dogwoods
Dogwoods in the front yard.

Things I Was Going To Do But Then I Thankfully Reconsidered:

  • Publish a blog post of my memoirs as a homeschooler with thinly veiled descriptions of all of the most interesting and bizarre kids, with a particular focus on their mega-creepster parents and the dark comedy of religious fundamentalism
  • Get a master’s degree in English
  • Buy another houseplant
  • Dye my hair red
  • Re-attempt The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay (Michael Chabon, I love your writing studio, but I have tried to read that book three times and failed every time)
  • Kept up with the annals of the Christian patriarchy movement
  • Log into Facebook to stalk the aforementioned homeschoolers
  • Watch anything ever again by David Lynch
  • Quit my job and become a dog trainer
  • Try to draw
  • Buy another black dress
3 thoughts on “I was going to do that, and then I thought better of it

  1. Aww, but I would have loved to hear your stories of bizarre homeschooler kids (I would probably have been among the thinly-veiled references, but I’m self-aware enough now to just find my past-self amusing) and the mega-creepster parents and the dark comedy of religious fundamental

  2. ism (whoops, accidentally posted to early). Actually, I’d probably get a pretty big kick out of discussing some of the homeschooling culture and bizarreness even if just in private. 😛 We’ve both ended up pretty far removed from a lot of the extremist stuff that floated around in those circles.

  3. Drawing never hurt no one. Try standing in front of a window with a marker. Keep your head still and trace what you see. Color it in. You will smile at it.

Leave a Reply

