Written on the body

  • One of my eyes is slightly larger than the other. It’s apparent in photographs when I am smiling.
  • My legs always get a pleasant, healthful tan in the summer, but the rest of my body stays resolutely pale.
  • I can wiggle my ears with impunity.
  • I have a chipped tooth in the front, from a cul-de-sac hockey game.
  • My hair doesn’t like the water from other people’s houses.
  • I am extremely vein-y.
  • My mouth is apparently too small for my head. According to dentists. Also according to dentists, I have very shapely teeth.
  • Like my mother, my left leg aches when I am synchronized with the moons and the tides.
  • I like the shape of my fingernails; I dislike the shape of my toenails.
  • I have a mole on my right side that I always think is a tick. I check it every time.
  • I can barely touch my toes.
  • I have a tiny beauty mark above my mouth; it is cherished and never covered with makeup.
  • I have never broken a bone and have no intention to break one. I was always a very cautious child.
  • My hands and feet get numb very quickly (yo, Raynaud’s!) and stay numb when they feel so inclined. For this reason, I cannot stay outside for very long in the winter.
  • My second toe is longer than my big toe on both feet.
  • I have two fake teeth, because I was born without permanent ones there (thanks to a paternal genetic inheritance).
  • I very much like the color of my eyes; I very much dislike the formation of my hairline at the nape of my neck.
  • I have a very intimate relationship with my eyelashes.
3 thoughts on “Written on the body

  1. ah! i have two fake teeth too, after having been born without replacements for my ‘baby teeth’, or as we call them in india, ‘milk teeth.’

    i had no idea it was genetic. ­čÖé

Leave a Reply

