Certain slant of light

Feeling like fall.
Before.

Thoughts lately

♦ Been utterly consumed with the real estate market and interior design blogs. First, I could look at other people’s houses ALL DAY, and second, you know my disdain for DIY projects; it is wide and well-publicized. But I harbor respect for these crafty women. And I also don’t know if I have the internal fortitude to join their ranks. The thought of making a fall wreath for my front door makes me want to set something on fire (preferably said wreath). But knowing how to refinish an old table or install new cabinets? Such information could be very useful to me.

♦ Getting a new sister next weekend! Tracy, welcome to the family. Win, good job picking that one.

♦ Let me tell you what is NOT the best breakfast reading material: a book about slum life in Greater Mumbai. But it is a wonderful book overall — beautifully written without being sappy or overly simplistic — and I highly recommend it. I think everyone read it about six months ago: Behind the Beautiful Forevers, by Katherine Boo. (And David Sedaris is right; it DOES read just like a novel.)

♦ Also highly recommended: This Paris Review interview with Czeslaw Milosz, from some time in the mid-1990s. Riveting. And the guy hung out with everyone who was everyone.

♦ Sometimes, I genuinely feel bad for moderate Republicans. It must really suck to have your entire political party co-opted by a fringe group of total wackos. Not that I’ll necessarily vote for them, but bring back the sane, moderate GOP!

And now we're in a different grade of color. #nofilter #fallsky
After.

Leave a Reply

