Snow day

Snow day
Backyard at 6:30 a.m.

As one who was raised in North Carolina, I don’t think I’ve ever seen this much snow before.

Snow day
Front yard.

We both got the day off, which was spent doing all of the lovely, lazy things we don’t do on typical weekdays — walk the dog in the middle of the day, paint one’s nails (me; I keep offering to paint Guion’s and he keeps declining), read several books, make real oatmeal, host Chelsea and her pups (Annie and Nell) over for a midday play-date.

We were also among the lucky ones in that we never lost power. I think we’re still on the hospital power grid or something, which surely helps.

Snow day

The big decision we made this week is that we are going to become a foster home for dogs from Pyrrha’s rescue, Southeast German Shepherd Rescue. We may have our first foster this weekend, and I am very excited and nervous about it. I have wanted to foster for a long time now, and thanks to Guion’s support and our wonderful landlords’ approval, I think now is a great time to accomplish that item on the Life List. (If you care even mildly about following this fostering adventure, you can rest assured that I will be blogging about it at Doggerel.) Antsy with post-cabin fever energy, I set up the second crate in the “dog room” tonight and started getting really excited about this challenge.

For now, though, I am thankful to have had an extra day to just spend with my husband and my dog. I do love them so.

One thought on “Snow day

  1. This post makes me so happy! I’m anxious to hear how your experience with fostering goes. It’s something I find myself considering nearly daily. Glad you enjoyed your day with G&P!

Leave a Reply

