Married love

Wadi Bani Khalid
Wadi Bani Khalid. Source: Flickr user Alun W

From “After an Absence”
Linda Pastan

I had even forgotten how married love
is a territory more mysterious
the more it is explored, like one of those terrains
you read about, a garden in the desert
where you stoop to drink, never knowing
if your mouth will fill with water or sand.

. . . . . . . . . . . . .

For Guion. Thanks for taking me to poetry readings, for getting our new car fixed after an anonymous idiot plowed into it, for listening to me, for taking me on dates, for helping me with whatever I need. Happy Friday.

Leave a Reply

