Today’s questions

Why is my hair less curly?

What is it about quiet novels about the interior lives of women that resonates so deeply with me? (See: Housekeeping, by Marilynne Robinson, which I just started and I love. See also: All Works by Virginia Woolf.)

Is it possible to make quinoa taste like food?

What type of birds were flocked together in that tree, wailing and calling others to them? Were they starlings? I would prefer that they were starlings.

Why does Thanksgiving still feel so far away?

Where can I go where I can interact with more animals?

Are American politics becoming more and more dangerously polarized these days, or is it just me?

What do I have to do to make myself like yoga?

How do you know if it’s the Holy Spirit or your conscience or your latent desires?

When can I get a dog?

3 thoughts on “Today’s questions

  1. Love these questions. I can’t help you with things like yoga (ouch) or discerning the Holy Spirit (let me know what you learn), but let me just say quinoa is awesome—especially with things like avocado, black beans, tomato, feta and lime juice (summery, but great). Don’t give up yet.

    Also, Home and Gilead are two of my all-time fave books, but I couldn’t for the life of me get through Housekeeping. Maybe I didn’t give it a fair shot? Would love to be convinced to give it another go.

  2. I just finished Housekeeping, and it just gets stranger and creepier and more awesome. AND I realized that I will need to discuss it with, so when you finish, we’ll have to meet for tea!

    And some good advice I’ve heard re: discernment…
    First, if you’re trying to make a decision, and both options are legal, moral, yada yada yada, it’s good to make the choice, say it out loud, then wait on it for a day or two. If you feel peace, go with it. If you feel unease, change your mind. (Doesn’t ALWAYS work, but sometimes it’s quite helpful.)
    Second, when I have an urge to speak correction into someone’s life, to cushion against impulsive bossiness (one of my special skills), I will pray specifically for this situation, and for this person, for a set period of time (one week, one month…) and by the time the deadline hits I find that I’ve either refined my thoughts/words and am ready to speak clearly, that I’ve realized it’s not my place to speak, or the issue is resolved without my input!

    My hair is less curly in the winter as well. I think it’s the dryness in the air. Perhaps some deep conditioning will help?

Leave a Reply

