My list of bad words

Words and phrases that make me feel sick, that make my eyes roll up into my head with contempt:

  • Alright
  • Authored
  • Effortlessly chic
  • Fab
  • Foodie
  • Go green
  • Home decor
  • Hubby
  • I don’t do [noun]…
  • Impacted
  • Impactful
  • Masterful
  • Penned
  • Pregnancy brain
  • Queried
  • Read [as a noun, “it’s a great read”]
  • Slut
  • Tablescape
  • Vintage [noun, junk you’re trying to sell]

I think “impactful” is the absolute worst. I want to choke people who use that word. I can barely type it without wanting to scream.

How about you? Any commonly used phrases that get your blood boiling? Oh, and happy Independence Day weekend! Use your freedom as an American to respect the English language.

6 thoughts on “My list of bad words

  1. Great list. “Vintage” has lost all meaning to me. I bought a pair of new shoes that were marked up in price because they were “vintage”. They were new. I was the first person to own these shoes. And yet somehow they were simultaneously vintage. Now fashion boutiques are just messing with the space-time continuum.

    Personally, people saying “lol” instead of laughing makes me feel physically disturbed. I work at a high school so I hear it all the time. [Teenager] “Louise totally stacked it.” [Other teenager] “Lol.”

  2. IMPACTFUL! Is this actually even a word? It enrages me as well. “Impacted”
    follows closely behind on my list of rage-inducing words. It should only be used when referring to wisdom teeth.

  3. I don’t know… This list seems so judgmental to me! I use a lot of these words, I realize. Maybe I should just re-evaluate some things. I guess maybe I should take a break from reading little stories because I always feel inadequate!! Haha.

Leave a Reply

