Monday Snax

This weekend in domestic living, we bought sets of curtains for our bedroom and living room. This turned out to be a sort of misadventure in itself, but I have a patient and forgiving husband. Even after we had measured everything, we still bought the wrong size for the panels, so we’ll be returning things to Target this week. Guion installed the curtain rods yesterday (while blasting Lauryn Hill) and I just had to make myself sit in the living room and not watch. I was very unhelpful to him, but he is resourceful and good at tuning me out when I need to be tuned out.

March is shaping up to be a very busy and exciting month; I just wish it would start to look and feel like spring! It’s windy and rainy and COLD. Virginia, you are not winning me over right now. Not many Snax for you this week. I was too busy to read the Internets.

Snax stirred into a hearty bowl of steel-cut oats:

Cosmetic Database. Want to know how toxic your makeup is? You might be surprised; I know I was. This helpful website catalogs hundreds of makeup brands and ranks them in terms of their toxicity and inclusion of carcinogens. It’s enough to make you swear off makeup forever. (Environmental Working Group)

Famous Writers’ Small Writing Sheds. Cue envy! Check out the great little writing huts from the likes of Virginia Woolf, Mark Twain, Dylan Thomas, and Michael Pollan. (Re-Nest)

The Geocities-izer. Make any website look like it was built by a 13-year-old in 1996! Remember when websites looked like this? I do and don’t miss it. (Wonder-Tonic)

Stuck in Shanghai. Grace isn’t stuck in Shanghai anymore, but I loved these photos she took while she was there. I don’t know much about Shanghai or even China, but I feel like these photographs capture at least a lot of my preconceived notions: bleak, industrial, and yet somehow very exciting. (Grace Farson)

Many Things Can Go Wrong When You Model Your Robbery after the Plot of Snatch. I just watched this movie for the first time a few weeks ago and loved it; so, I found this little news story especially funny. (After watching “Snatch,” I was also astounded that people lauded “Oceans Eleven” and its sequels so much. There is nothing in those films that wasn’t already done–and possibly better–in “Snatch.”) (Daily Intel)

Queen Bess at Tilbury. I realize that I re-post everything that Kate Beaton uploads, but I can’t help it! I just love it all so much. (Hark, a Vagrant!)

Behind the Scenes. Guion showed me this series of (Danish? I think) ads and I think they’re so funny. What if ATMs really were operated by a little man inside? Dear friend Sarah re-blogged them on her site. (Intervals of Sanity)

Leave a Reply

