A change of style

It is true that I have never been so neglectful of this work of mine. I think I can foresee in my reluctance to trace a sentence, not merely lack of time & a mind tired of writing, but also one of those slight distastes which betokens a change of style. So an animal must feel at the approach of spring when his coat changes. Will it always be the same? Shall I always feel this quicksilver surface in my language; & always be shaking it from shape to shape?

— Virginia Woolf, 15 November 1919, The Diary of Virginia Woolf, vol. I

One thought on “A change of style

Leave a Reply

