Monday Snax

We had a very festive weekend here. It was super. Two parties, two houseguests, lots of fun. New photos on Flickr. A small sampling below:

Angela came for a visit! The prettiest.
Annual Christmas party at the Blue House. Cutest Tiny Tim I've ever seen.
Also spent some quality time with the North Pole and Chestnuts.

Um. Can you believe that next Saturday is CHRISTMAS?? I can’t. Snaxy snax. Lots, to make up for sparse weeks:

Two challenging TED talks I watched this week:

Women, Wartime, and the Dream of Peace. This talk is from Zainab Salbi, an Iraqi woman who established the non-profit Women for Women International. Salbi speaks about the terrible burden of war on women–80 percent of war refugees are women and children–and the utter lack of women at the wartime negotiating table. Women are the ones left behind to rebuild, she says, and yet they are ignored and sit on the “back line” of war, despite being on war’s front line at home. It’s only 17 minutes long; do watch. (TED)

A Call to Men. Kelsey, I’m thinking about you and your class with this talk. Tony Porter is internationally recognized for his work to end violence against women. In this 11-minute presentation, he challenges our notions of “acting like a man” and how men have to move out of culturally mandated roles to end the epidemic of violence against women. Important–and so refreshing to hear from a man. (TED)

And now back to your regularly scheduled program:

Christmas gift tags. A present from my favorite Swedish artist, Camilla Engman! Enjoy this PDF of printable Christmas tags. Totally cute. I already printed off some for my own use this season. (Camilla Engman)

Miss Modish Muses: Snow Bunnies. These cute/sophisticated/funny vintage photographs of women in winter certainly get me in the mood for the holidays, a la “White Christmas.” (Miss Modish)

Iseeyou: Michael Wolf’s Voyeuristic Views. Hong Kong-based artist Michael Wolf has a new show of his photos of 21st-century voyeurism: see-through skyscrapers and intimate moments captured on Google Street View. Really interesting. (Flavorwire)

Photoshoot by Sarah Doyle. A dreamy and yet strong model; I can’t find the right words to describe my impression of these photos. Aggressive and yet delicate, maybe? (Silent Storyteller)

Fragile Wings. Loving the red lips and the braids! (Snail and Cyclops)

People of Turkey. After becoming a fan of Turkish novelist Orhan Pamuk, I’ve developed a growing interest in this interesting and complex country sandwiched between Europe and Asia. I enjoyed this collection of photographs from this super-adorable (and super-privileged!) couple who is traveling the world right now. (Mr. & Mrs. Globe Trot)

Stenelux. A glimpse into a beautiful–yes!–taxidermy/natural history shop in Amsterdam. I’m not sure why it’s so charming to me; I think it’s because it makes me think of “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” or something. (An Apple a Day)

Sisters. Another charming post from my Danish girl crush that I linked to last week. Ida Nielsen shares some photographs of herself and her sister. Makes me miss my own! (Ida Nielsen)

Mr. Tomkins, Wait! Because you can’t have too many pictures of a fawn licking a cat. (Cute Overload)

Steve Wozniak Wonders Whose Altar We’re Worshiping At. Interesting thoughts from the co-founder of Apple. Are we indeed prisoners to our personal machines? (Daily Intel)

Dear Brussels Sprouts. I generally don’t read food blogs that much because 1.) why read about and look at food that you can’t eat? This mirrors my perspective on the Food Network too. I’d rather watch football than Ina Garten. And 2.) they’re usually not interesting. But Diary of a Locavore is an exception. This woman writes like a novelist, but about vegetables instead of people. Here is her heartfelt epistle to the much-maligned Brussels sprouts. I’m thinking about trying them again myself. (*Professor Cloud, I will always remember how to spell “Brussels sprouts” for the rest of my life, because I once spelled it “Brussel sprouts” and lost 50 points on that paper for you because of it.) (Diary of a Locavore)

Leave a Reply

