More than biology

I just processed a submission to our academic journal from a professor at the University of Colorado at Denver. He used Wikipedia as a source. Come on, dude. Do you want people to take you seriously? Or maybe he’s not entirely to blame. Maybe one of his students wrote it and he isn’t a careful proofreader… Either way. Ha-larious.

Guion read his work last night at the weekly MFA reading series that happens at The Bridge. He was a great hit, of course. I was very proud. Whenever I hear him read his work, I am reminded all over again what a truly gifted writer he is. It’s a nice phenomenon. I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of it.

In other news, I can’t WAIT to go home for Thanksgiving! I miss my family so much. This sprawling family-wide e-mail chain that we’ve got going is only compounding my homesickness.

The Feminine Mystique is good, but it’s not exactly exciting to read. I think it would have really rocked my world–as it rocked everyone’s world–in 1963, but in 2010, so many of these observations aren’t true anymore. One critical one being that women now outpace men in receiving both bachelor’s and doctorate degrees. This also means that the problem of women forcing themselves to get married and make babies as soon as possible–thereby forfeiting their intelligence and their identities in the cult of sacred motherhood–is no longer much of an issue anymore. Women get jobs now. They still don’t earn as much as men for the same positions, but they are working. So, there’s that, which is something I’m sure Friedan, were she still alive, would find encouraging.

I think the main thing I’ve learned from The Feminine Mystique is a point that is very subtly laid beneath the text by Friedan. Essentially, it’s this: Women count as human beings, and they count as far more than their mere biological, reproductive capacity. I reject the notion that is especially popular among Christians, that a woman should bear and raise children and do nothing more. Men are allowed to exist and function in the world beyond their mere reproductive function. Why can’t women?

2 thoughts on “More than biology

  1. Wow that is surprising from an supposed academician. I read a history-type book last year, where the author reference Wikipedia multiple times–I lost respect for the guy.

Leave a Reply

