Monday Snax

So. I had a dream last night that I was stricken by another wave of pregnancy terror (not too unrealistic) and so I took a pregnancy test at home. When I looked at the stick to see the result, it said: “MIGHT BE.” I was so mad. NOT helpful! Really, not cool, Psyche. Then I woke up. Hi, Monday morning, nice to meet you.

Great weekend with Guion. His concert on Saturday night was fantastic and it was the most well-attended show I’ve been to at The Garage thus far. Everybody loved him, of course. We went to Pen Park yesterday and flopped on the ground and read Ivan Turgenev’s Spring Torrents aloud to each other. It was romantic. And hilarious.

Snax, with extra cream cheese:

Ally + Kate. Aww. Miss these girls; can’t wait to see them over Thanksgiving. Such beautiful shots of such beautiful kids. (Como Say What?)

Life at Home. Another post from Grace. This makes me really, really, really want to pack up, jump in the car, and hit the road for Davidson. (Como Say What?)

1010 Project. A bit old now, but still worth looking at: A challenge to some of the best blog-based photographers to take 10 pictures on 10/10/10. The results are very charming. (1010 Project)

Lucas Foglia: Re-Wilding. These are some of the craziest photos I’ve seen. Photographer Lucas Foglia wandered into the wilderness of the southeast to find people living off the grid. These humans are fascinating, and the photographs are riveting. (Lucas Foglia)

Tata Vislevskaya: In Switzerland. I want to go to there. (Modish)

Why Can’t Middle-Aged Women Have Long Hair? An interesting question, and it seems to be universally mandated by American culture: older women with long hair get instantly labeled as witches or hippies. Why must this be? (The New York Times)

Chris Pratt’s Weight-Gain Tips. I don’t watch “Parks and Recreation,” but this is pretty funny. (Vulture)

TWO, yes two, features from NYT’s amazing Great Homes section:

Who Lives There: The Pyramid Atop Seattle’s Smith Tower. All I want to know is HOW did these people score this place to live?? Crazy! (New York Times)

A Log Home in Chapel Hill. But not just any log home… Never knew this existed in town. Looks magical, doesn’t it? The owner is a twig sculptor. What a fascinating profession. (New York Times)

A Comprehensive Glossary of GIFs. I don’t know why these are so funny. But they are. You will LOL. (Jezebel)

Why Don’t You? I always get excited to see curly-haired models, because they are so rare. From a recent copy of Vogue. I think this is Doutzen Kroes, but Grace could confirm that… (Dress, Design, Decor)

Living In: Rear Window. One of my all-time favorite classic movies! I still get antsy every time she breaks into the supposed murderer’s apartment and Jimmy Stewart can’t do anything to help her. Kills me. Also, Grace Kelly totally rocks out in this film. (Design Sponge)

Christine O’Donnell Introduced to Concept of ‘Separation of Church and State’ for First Time. OMG. PEOPLE. How is anyone still considering her a viable candidate for office? Anyone? (Daily Intel)

Out-of-Print Clothing. What a cool idea: T-shirts with the covers of out-of-print classic books. Super trendy, I know, but I still can’t help wanting a few of them (1984 and Song of Solomon are pretty rad). (Wide Open Spaces)

A Brief Survey of the Short Story, Part 29: Eudora Welty. I’ve been a big Welty fan ever since Dave gave me her collected short stories when I was a teenager. It’s great to hear someone else praise her as a masterful writer, and a masterful writer who isn’t just a “Southern lady author.” And this is from a Brit, too! (The Guardian’s Books Blog)

One thought on “Monday Snax

Leave a Reply

