Happy weekend

It’s finally here, kiddos! I’ll be home with my cute, now freshly bearded husband soon, and then he is going to generously accompany me to the DMV so I can get a new license with my new name and state on it. I’m dreading going, but it will be good to get it done. And swap out that awful picture for a hopefully* less awful one.

To keep AFP Calligraphy more fresh and interesting, I’ve instituted a new category that I’m calling My Letters. In it, I will attempt to ironically chronicle my handwritten correspondence with a handful of beautiful women. Just a way to show potential clients some of the ways I’ve been writing lately, I guess. And to brag on my friends, each of whom has her own completely lovely and independent style. So, if you write me a letter, you have been forewarned. Don’t worry, though: I won’t post your full address anywhere or the contents of your letter, or anything like that. Just a corner of your stationery or a sample of your handwriting. Capiche?

Thanks for the book suggestions, friends! I am still debating my choice, but will let you know what I pick. I started Death Comes for the Archbishop today. I am told by my own notes on the front page that I last read the book in January 2005. I remember thinking it was very dull then, so I was hoping that I would prove my 17-year-old self wrong by falling in love with it. But so far… it is very dull.

“For in him, all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell…” This might be my favorite verse in that entire letter. It is so beautiful and mysterious. I could think about it all day long. (Colossians 1:19)

I’ve had a lot of down time at work today. If you can’t tell. I revamped my reading pages up there. Because I could.

* I always think of my editing professor, Bill Cloud, when I use this word. He frequently reminded us that it’s often used improperly (e.g., it does not mean “I hope,” but rather, to do something in a spirit of anticipation; slight difference, but there is one). But then one of the editors at the Denver Post told me that everyone uses it the wrong way now, and so all we can do is accept it. So I have.

Leave a Reply

