Help me, Blogosphere

Little band of readers, I need your help. I went to our church’s book club tonight. A cozy group of six of us talked about Jacob’s Room, by Woolf, as I had mentioned, and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. So much so that I volunteered to lead the October study. (The book club leader is moving to Richmond, and so it’s become a democratic book club, with different members volunteering each month now.)

So now I have to pick something to read, and I can’t decide! It has to be a “classic book,” and preferably somewhat short. It needs to be something I’ve read before, so I can be more prepared to lead a discussion on it, but not something I’ve read terribly recently. (Thankfully, the stuff I’ve read recently is far too long to count. Proust and Garcia-Marquez? No way.)

To give you some context, we are reading Willa Cather’s Death Comes for the Archbishop next. And then I’m responsible for the following month.

I need your vote! Here are the candidates:

Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe
Howards End, E.M. Forster
The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, Carson McCullers
Beloved, Toni Morrison
Cane, Jean Toomer

Tell me what you think I should pick and why–or share if you have a better suggestion! I’m all ears.

Love and light hearts,

A.

3 thoughts on “Help me, Blogosphere

  1. Abby,
    Of the books you listed, I’ve only read Beloved and Things Fall Apart. I’m sure either of those would lend themselves well to book club discussion. I found Beloved riveting, albeit bleak and strange in some places. Plenty to discuss, that’s for sure. It’s been a long time since I read Achebe.

    Have you read Wendell Berry’s fiction? I don’t think his books would qualify as classics (yet), but I sure love them. Hannah Coulter is my favorite.

    Love and light hearts – what a fitting closing sentiment. It reminds me of something that was attributed to Stephen Foster – dear hearts and gentle people, which I think makes a lovely salutation!

    Enjoy your book club.

  2. My vote is Beloved. It’s something everyone should read but I feel like nobody reads it without a reason.

  3. travels with charley, steinbeck.

    why? you won’t regret it. he starts in new england in the fall, spends thanksgiving in texas and ends in the race riots in new orleans [in the 60s.]

    it’s my favorite book, ever. and it’s not too long, and it’s beautiful and poetic and appeals to my wanderlust.

    also, he names is camper truck rocinante, which is just awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

