Sugoi!

Best day of work so far, probably, for a totally nerdy reason… I heard one of my coworkers complain that there was another difficult transcription to do. I just received the transcribing software and pedal, and so I offered to do it for her. “Are you sure you want to do it? The guy’s Japanese, so it’s kind of hard to understand.” I smiled. “I actually speak Japanese, so I would love to!” She shrugged and handed it over.

You can imagine my delight when I discovered that almost half of the tape is the subject speaking back and forth with his translator: in my almost-mother-tongue (i.e., Nihongo). Absolutely delightful. I feel like my head is going to explode. It’s great. All of these old vocabulary words that I used to know are coming back. Even though it’s rather difficult to understand–nothing like listening to a foreign language you’re still a bit rusty in when the conversation hinges on financial market examinations–I’m loving it.

I really need to get all of my old Japanese textbooks and dictionaries from home. I’m going to get better at this! I am. I wonder if I could audit basic Japanese classes at UVA? Is that allowed?

Leave a Reply

