Monday Snax

Susan B. Asskicker and June the Cleaver wrestle it out at CLAW.

Guys. On Friday night, we went to the most amazing event: the annual Charlottesville Lady Arm Wrestlers‘ tournament! We joined hundreds of other ardent supporters for this theatrical championship and had the best time. We’re already looking forward to next year. After handily defeating her opponents–the likes of Tragedy Ann, Nilla Waste-her, Jos-a-Fiend Breaker, to name a few–June the Cleaver walked away with the championship trophy. Some more photos on my Flickr!

Snax with a dose of girl power stirred into your milkshake:

Digitally Archived Yearbooks from UNC-Chapel Hill. This was my most exciting find of the week. My alma mater, UNC-Chapel Hill, has digitally archived its yearbooks from 1890 to 1978. Guion and I have been paging through them all week and have been filled with so much nostalgia for Chapel Hill. The photographs are so beautiful and haunting. Seeing a fraternity from 1893 standing in Forest Theater? Totally amazing. Credit to Miss Moss and Wanderlusted for finding it; they also have collected some lovely montages from the yearbooks. (UNC University Libraries)

Older Mistresses Are So Grateful! Ben Franklin. You cad. (Letters of Note)

The Pen, Mightier. A long and very serious ode to one of the best pens ever: The Pilot V-5. One of my favorites, too! (The Millions)

In Which When I Went to Iowa I Had Never Heard of Faulkner. Wonderful snippets from the letters of the ever-brilliant Flannery O’Connor. She sounds like she would have been a lot of fun, too. (This Recording)

Washington Wonderland. A magical photographic voyage from the Washington Ballet and photographer Cade Martin; really mesmerizing. (The New Yorker Photo Booth)

Challenging the Westboro Baptist Church One Blackout Poem at a Time. Turning their own messages against them; I like it. (Lit Drift)

Less Than Human. I follow several blogs by artists and designers, but I have to say that Matt Dorfman’s is one of my favorites. Dorfman is a designer for the New York Times and he also designs book covers. In this particular post, he documents his artistic process as he decides on the cover for the book Less Than Human. So fascinating to me. (Matt Dorfman)

Closet Visit: Claire Cottrell. Loved this closet visit; Ms. Cottrell has such breezy, colorful style. (Jeana Sohn)

What’s In My Suitcase? Peek inside the suitcases of Mr. and Mrs. Globe Trot, an adorable wedding-photographer couple who have been traveling around the world for almost a year now. It was a pretty amazing reminder of how little we actually need to survive! Julia also provides some great tips for those who are packing for trips abroad. (Mr and Mrs Globe Trot)

Man Who Temporarily Disables Facebook Account Deems Self “Off-the-Grid.” Hilarious and chastening, because that’s probably how I would think about it if I deleted my Facebook account. (The Onion)

President Obama Waving Grudgingly. A montage of Obama grimly waving. It’s great. I don’t know why I find this so funny. (Daily Intel)

2 thoughts on “Monday Snax

  1. Ben Franklin never ceases to amaze me. I’m happy to learn that he was quite fond of capitalization (or perhaps that was en vogue back then). #5 is definitely my favorite.

Leave a Reply

