Monday Snax

With every day that passes, I become more and more excited that January is almost over. I know a lot of dearly beloved people who have January as their birth month, but I’m sorry, guys: It is by far the worst 31 days of the year. I will forgive it once it’s gone. However, the bright side of January is that it has given me ample time to read, drink tea, and–yes, I admit it, world!–watch “Lost” with my husband. He’s doing a pretty good job of convincing me that it’s addictive. We also bought a coffee table yesterday, which was pretty exciting, because I think it means we’re done with buying furniture for our apartment. Mainly because nothing else could possibly fit

Snax in a white bowl of pomegranate arils:

Sit. Stay. Parse. Good Girl! A Border Collie–who knows 1,000 words–teaches us about language. A quote from the article: “Chaser proved to be a diligent student. Unlike human children, she seems to love her drills and tests and is always asking for more. ‘She still demands four to five hours a day,’ Dr. Pilley said. ‘I’m 82, and I have to go to bed to get away from her.’” (New York Times)

Space Invaders: Why You Should Never, Ever Use Two Spaces after a Period. Slate Writer Farhard Manjoo, I LOVE YOU. FINALLY. Someone is talking about this! “What galls me about two-spacers isn’t just their numbers. It’s their certainty that they’re right. Over Thanksgiving dinner last year, I asked people what they considered to be the “correct” number of spaces between sentences. The diners included doctors, computer programmers, and other highly accomplished professionals. Everyone—everyone!—said it was proper to use two spaces.” Me too, same as me, I’m the same! Please. If you are a repeat space offender, read this article. Spread the word. (Slate)

Same Books, Three Ways. Cate’s excellent post about how she’s chosen to display her books as she’s moved. Beautiful! (The Charlotte)

Fashion of the Future. Probably the best video I’ve seen all week: Fashion designers from the 1930s predict what clothes we’ll be wearing in 2000. Totally amazing. (The Charlotte)

Life on a Farm. Brief thoughts from Grace as she begins her stint on a New Zealand farm. (Como Say What?)

Figure-Figure. Lovely pairings of photographs and paintings. (Miss Moss)

Look: Napping. I’ve never been one who was actually able to nap; I feel guilty for napping. But these photographs could almost change my mind. Everyone looks so peaceful. (Where the Lovely Things Are)

Morbid Curiosity Leading Many Voters to Support Palin. “A recent poll shows 62% of Americans say they don’t want to vote for Palin, but just kinda have to see what what would happen.” (The Onion)

Dogs in Ginza Wearing School Uniforms and Glasses. Japan, this is taking your little dog obsession too far; too far, I tell you! (Tokyo Times)

However, Since You Are Twelve… “We appreciate your interest in the Marine Corps. However, since you are twelve, you won’t be eligible to be a Marine for a while.” (Letters of Note)

New Game! Is it Etsy or Anthropologie? Hah. Loves it. And it can be very hard to tell. (Regretsy)

This Is the Brooklyn We Live In, This Is the Brooklyn I Remember. A beautiful post about growing up in New York City and then raising your own kids there. It makes me think about what a different life she and her daughters must lead, compared to those of who weren’t raised in the greatest metropolis. (Sweet Fine Day)

Postscript: Reynolds Price. A thoughtful eulogy for North Carolina writer Reynolds Price, who passed away last week. (The Book Bench)

7 Common Investing Mistakes. A place to start, at least. (Wise Bread)

Light Locations. Such a beautiful photographs of such peaceful, bright space. I want to create rooms like this in a house one day. (Ill Seen, Ill Said)

Bruce. I feel like there’s a great short story in this. (FOUND Magazine)

4 thoughts on “Monday Snax

  1. The two spaces thing is so controversial. I wanted to share this response to the Slate article from Deadspin. Not for the weak of heart:

    “There was a big argument between annoying people online last week
    when a dude from chastised anyone who uses two spaces after a period
    when typing. It was a perfectly good argument, except that it
    contained all manner of Slate-approved douchery, like this:

    You’d expect, for instance, that anyone savvy enough to read Slate
    would know the proper rules of typing, but you’d be wrong

    No, I’d expect anyone savvy enough to read Slate to be someone I’d
    like to kiss with the front of a speeding truck. This article prompted
    any number of replies, most of them way less pretentious and annoying
    than the original piece. I myself always use two spaces after a period
    (HTML autocorrects it in these Deadspin posts), but only because
    someone taught me it was the right way ages ago and I can’t go back.
    Literally. I’ve tried. I know it’s incorrect to use two spaces after a
    period, and I accept that. But I can’t untrain my mind to do it. It’s
    too ingrained. I tried doing it the other day and damn near had a
    brain hemorrhage. I can’t change, so fuck it. I’m staying with two. In
    fact, given what a prick that Slate guy was about it, I’m gonna use
    three spaces after all my periods from now on. SUCK ON THAT.”

  2. I am a two-space woman. Why? Because I learned to type in the eighth grade on a behemoth of a typewriter and Mrs. Jeffries, our typing teacher would make a public example of any poor gawky, geeky, hapless eighth grader who failed to follow the instructions to leave two spaces after a period, a question mark, etc… This is powerful behavioral conditioning.

    Such conditioning works best when it is reinforced. So I became a psychologist, ruled forever by the APA manual of style, even if it is bad style. I guess bad style has become my style.

    Luckily, as all of us age, the typewriter trained folks will all die off and this little bit of history will fade forever. Then people will become nostalgic and in 100 years will revive the tradition. This is called the circle of life.

  3. I am so with you about January. I also hate February. This two month stretch just about kills me every year, so this year I’m celebrating little milestones like “halfway through January!” “two-thirds of the way through January!” It’s almost like counting down the minutes on the stairclimber…

    I hope you’re discovering some good books!

Leave a Reply

