Monday Snax

Winter in the Connor Quad, taken March 2009, during my junior year at UNC-Chapel Hill.

G. and I have both been sick since we got back from Thanksgiving. I think I’m getting over it, but he’s just acquired my slew of symptoms (runny nose, sore throat, aches, general yuckiness). As E. Hylton would say, “I feel like a big gross.”

In brighter news, however, my department at work moved to a new building, which has WINDOWS and I get a bigger desk. It feels like an upgrade on life, since I spend so much of mine there. Yesterday, we also had our first snow. It was just a light dusting, but everyone got pretty jazzed about it. On my way back from the grocery store, I saw a dad and his two sons “sledding” down a big hill in the park off Madison. They were basically just sliding down wet grass. But they were having a great time. Oh, and I have this Mac. I’m still getting used to it–it’s kind of a learning curve after spending most of your adult computing life on a PC–but I think I am going to like it just fine.

Snax to cure your sniffles:

Catalog Living. Courtesy of R. Hylton (via Facebook) and E. Hylton (via handwritten letter). Finally, someone mocking the ridiculous spreads that occur in catalogs. The site follows the imaginary lives of Gary and Elaine, who live in the catalogs you get in the mail. Pottery Barn, you’re probably guilty. This post has to be one of my favorites I’ve seen so far. (Catalog Living)

100 Notable Books of 2010. I get really excited when this list comes out every year. I’m generally not very good at staying updated with good modern literature, and this is always a great place to start. Need to start stuffing my book list. (New York Times)

Chloe the Australian Shepherd. I am going to keep posting pictures of puppies until someone tells me to stop. And even then, I am going to keep doing it. (Daily Puppy)

Side Eye: A Collection. The blog title is oxymoronic: One cannot overload on cute. (Cute Overload)

Hideaki Hamada. This Japanese photographer takes the most beautiful and sweet pictures of his son. Some of my favorites: Windows (the comic/seriousness kills me); New Balance (adorable); Another World (they already have his hair groomed to look like every Tokyo teen boy). (One Year)

Posters Reminding You Not to Forget Your Umbrella. Again, I love Japan. It’s totally true, though: there are little umbrellas everywhere. I think my host family had at least 35 in the foyer. (Tokyo Mango)

Paris in the Summer. My sisters are so beautiful and talented. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. (Como Say What?)

Mega Bookshelf. Um, yes please. (Miss Moss)

Teapots. I’ll say it again: Yes, please. We’ve been drinking a lot of tea lately and it’s really made me want to buy some more teapots. (Miss Moss)

Life on My Street. I think I just have a general crush on Danish women. This post will get you in the wintry mood! (Ida Nielsen)

Living In: Marie Antoinette. Guion had never seen this film, and so we watched it the other night. I fell in love with it all over again. Sofia Coppola, you have my heart. (Design Sponge)

Leave a Reply

