Monday Snax

Kelsey is turning 21 on Thursday! Happy birthday, Kels. I love you and this picture.

Guion and I had a good chat on Saturday morning at Panera about how these are the Best Days of Our Young Lives and how we don’t want a baby in at least five to six years. Good to establish these things early.

When I’m up at 6, still shaking off my barrage of vivid dreams, the first actual thought in my head is, “I have GOT to go to bed earlier.”

This weekend, Mom booked a room for all of us family women at this resort in the Meadows of Dan (the most dramatic name for a town ever). We’re celebrating Kelsey’s 21st birthday and I can’t wait! So excited. We’re going to try to get Mom tipsy, do lots of yoga with The Teacher, and probably watch “Little House on the Prairie” re-runs, while Mom reminds us, “I learned everything I know about parenting from this show.”

All I can think about are the winter holidays! All!

Snax in a brown paper bag with googly eyes:

Feedback from James Joyce’s Submission of Ulysses to His Creative-Writing Workshop. I have to credit my genius spouse with this one; he sent it to me as a consideration for Snax publication. Definitely merits the attention. “Kick-ass work, JJ, but way too long. Have you considered turning this into a short-short?” (McSweeney’s)

40 Things You Didn’t Know About Tina Fey. For instance: Her first name is actually Elizabeth, and she is a UVA graduate! I asked some UVA grads the other day to name some famous alums–besides Edgar Allan Poe–and they couldn’t come up with any. Tina Freakin’ Fey went to your school! You should know this! I love this woman. (Flavorwire)

Hard to Kill: Houseplants for the Inept. I love taking care of living things, whether they are betta fish or plants. We have a few plants surviving in our little home, so it was nice to read this article about other organisms that are fairly hardy. I’m all about the orchid; we have one that’s still going strong, even though it dropped its petals months ago. I was actually able to get my previous orchid to bloom again after a full year of hibernation. (New York Times)

A Livable Bento Box. I know most of my links pertain to Japan or the Japanese, but I can’t help it! I love them so much. This house is so sleek and minimalistic. I don’t know if I’d actually like to live there, but one can certainly admire this family’s peaceful architecture. (New York Times)

Living In: Breathless. We had a showing of this charming, iconic Godard film at our house a few weeks ago. Everyone loved it! All of the women wanted to go out and get her hair cut. (Design Sponge)

The House of Fake. People dress up and act out famous paintings! This is always fun to me. Makes me think of Arrested Development, too. “THERE IS NO GOD!” (Miss Moss)

Pretty Girls and Floral Paint. Enchanting little paintings. (Design for Mankind)

Women Reading. Last year, my grandmother bought me a beautiful day planner that contained paintings of women reading. I saved almost all of the paintings and have tacked them up in various places (like in my cubicle at work!). There are lots of images of women with books, and this is just a small collection of them. (Where the Lovely Things Are)

The Impatient Pirate of Cornelia Street. I really want to know what was in that chest… I love the continued exchange, too. (Passive-Aggressive Notes)

Sarah Palin Is in a Fight With a Wall Street Journal Economics Reporter About Economics. Because, well, I just feel like sometimes no one realizes how purely idiotic this woman is. Stupid people get WAY too much attention in modern American politics. Way too much. (Daily Intel)

Eight Things That May Have Caused George W. Bush to Make This Expression. I have no idea, but I love the suggestions! What’s your guess? (Daily Intel)

5 thoughts on “Monday Snax

  1. glad you established no baby making :) just wait until you see Noah though :) he might just change your minds…… :) haha jk (or confirm that you REALLY don’t want a baby for like 10 years now ;) lol

  2. Other notable alumi of U.VA. (among many): Tinsley Boyd of the Dave Matthews Band; Senator Edward Kennedy; U.S. Attorney General Robert Kennedy and . . . Katie freakin’ Couric.

  3. you are the best. wish i was part of the farson clan on a semi-regular basis. miss you so much i could vom :) how long has it been since you laughed at me say that! much too much my dear.

Leave a Reply

