Monday Snax

 

View from the cider press at "Montana," the Hill's cabin in Waynesboro.

 

Mike, Windy, and Granddad were unable to make it this weekend, unfortunately, but we are hoping that we get to see all of them very soon. In lieu of their visit, we spent our weekend making apple cider in Waynesboro (photos on Flickr) and watching a shamefully large number of episodes from Friday Night Lights, season four. That show needs to stop making me cry. It’s getting old, producers! It’s getting old.

Here are your Snax and a side of hot cocoa with durable marshmallows that don’t melt away instantly:

The New Studio (Interior). As many of you know, I wrote my thesis on Virginia Woolf’s emphasis on the importance of private space for women artists. This is our wedding photographer’s studio and it’s absolutely beautiful. I have to say I’m quite jealous. Meredith, Woolf would have been proud: you have a gorgeous room of your own! (And Unlimited)

Karl Erik Brondbo. GASP. Where is this Scandinavian paradise?? I must go to there. (Miss Moss)

In Paris, a Threadbare Home From the 1800s. So interesting and romantic. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a home decorated and designed quite like it. (New York Times)

In the Event of Moon Disaster. This is an amazing find: The transcript of the report that President Nixon would have read if Apollo 11 had failed. (Letters of Note)

The Kindle Swindle. A respected and literary lady blogger expresses her opinion on why Kindles just aren’t that great. Huzzah! (Fussy)

A History of Fist-Fueled Author Feuds. Who knew that authors were such a belligerent type? I guess they are. Flavorwire collects a history of fist fights between favorite authors and then decides who won the spat. Women authors are missing from this historical round up, but I guess they fought in other ways… (Flavorwire)

One & The Same. If I was independently wealthy, I think I’d spend a ridiculous amount of money on stationery–particularly cute cards like these. (Where the Lovely Things Are)

Circumstances Under Which I Would Enjoy Whale Watching. Where do they find these people? This is hilarious. I can’t decide which one is my favorite: Scenario one or four. (McSweeney’s)

Taken for Granite. The sad thing is that people will really buy this stuff, too… (Regretsy)

One thought on “Monday Snax

Leave a Reply

