Monday Snax

We had another fabulous weekend with guests: Emily and Jonathan came to stay, eat lemon fusilli, wander in Mallory’s giant and beautiful house, and watch animal videos on YouTube. Mostly of giant snakes. I was sad to see them both leave, but heartened by the fact that we’ll all be together again in Mom’s Dream Keeper for Rose and Kemp’s wedding. Yay!

I woke up this morning with one very distinct thought in my head, as if someone was repeating it over and over: “Geisha do not have spiritual weight.” Somehow it made a lot of sense to me when I woke up.

So, my 365 Project is now over, but I won’t be abandoning Flickr entirely. I’ll still post intermittently, so long as my laptop keeps working… which may not be very long at all, unfortunately.

Monday snax are here!

What Advice Do Financial Planners Have for Members of Gen Y? This is really great. I do think that my generation–myself included!–has a staggering lack of knowledge about managing money. These sage tips are a great place to start. (Gen Y Wealth)

A Book By Any Other Name. What if popular books were re-titled with the plot summary? Of course, Mrs. Dalloway‘s new moniker is my favorite. (The New Yorker)

Simple Invites. I will always love her work. It’s so lovely and unfettered. (Betsy Dunlap)

So, It’s Not the Phone? One of my new favorite humor blogs. Correspondence with your mom. (Postcards from Yo Momma)

Predominately vs. Predominantly. I’ve never really understood the difference either… until now. (Mighty Red Pen)

50 Best Websites of 2010. Time releases its list; makes Monday Snax feel somewhat small and obsolete. (Time)

Obento book. It’s so lovely; I wish I could find it somewhere. Watching my host mom create obento each morning for her kids was one of the more interesting aspects of daily life in Tokyo. I think the title of this book is literally translated to, “It’s Obento Time!” Cutesies. (Anna Gleeson)

I Will Never Be the Next Renee Zellweger. A letter from Zach Galifianakis. (Letters of Note)

Hungover Owls. This site is blocked by my work computer for containing “adult material”–e.g., photos of owls with snarky/drunk captions. (Hungover Owls)

The Barkvies. Stock photography of dogs. Yeah, I could look at it all day. So what’s the big deal? (The Barkvies)

Ame ni mo makezu. My host mother once ended a letter to me with the injunction from this famous Japanese poem. It has such a simple and beautiful message. I think I’d like to try to memorize it. (Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

